When a Horror or other creature with Spellcasting has "Number of Spells (x)" in their description, how does this work with threaded spells? Can the creature weave/cast/weave/cast in one turn, using the Spellcasting step for Threadweaving and then the Spellcasting step for actual casting? Or is it more like the creature can either weave/cast in one turn (when a thread is required) OR cast/cast for two spells that don't require threads?
I can't seem to find any examples other than in the Dragons' book which says that a Dragon can sacrifice one of the numbers to perform an extra standard action, which leads me to believe a dragon could then either weave/cast or cast/cast depending on spell/threads and circumstance in the same round, but couldn't weave/cast/weave/cast in the same round. Anyway, just wondering if I should take the same assumption approach with other creatures/horrors as well?
Prime example is the Mist from "Mists of Betrayal". His "Number of Spells" says (2) and I couldn't figure out if this allowed him to cast Ice Bolt twice in one turn or just weave the thread and then cast in the same turn or what exactly.
Thanks in advance for the help on this one.
-Gryphon
[ED1] Number of Spells (x)
-
gryphon410
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:15 pm [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
- Mataxes
- Site Admin
- Posts: 907
- Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:51 pm [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: [ED1] Number of Spells (x)
The way I run it (which I think is the 'correct' way but I'm not 100% sure), each spell action can be used for Thread Weaving/Spellcasting. Horrors (and dragons) need to weave threads for spells the same way adepts do, they just don't need matrices to do it.
So for your example, the Mist can cast a one thread spell every round (as opposed to every other). One spell action to weave the thread, the second to cast the spell (assuming the thread was woven successfully).
So for your example, the Mist can cast a one thread spell every round (as opposed to every other). One spell action to weave the thread, the second to cast the spell (assuming the thread was woven successfully).
Josh Harrison --
Troubadour and Magic Theorist
Line Developer: Earthdawn
Troubadour and Magic Theorist
Line Developer: Earthdawn
-
gryphon410
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:15 pm [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: [ED1] Number of Spells (x)
Ok, that's the way I was playing it, I just wasn't sure. In the rules it says that the # represents the number of spells that creature can cast per round, which made sense until the spells required threadweaving.
- Anunnaki
- Posts: 344
- Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:27 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: [ED1] Number of Spells (x)
Hiya,
Sorry. It's been a while since I've played ED1.
The creature may use one of its "number of spells" to weave spell threads (it's there on p.286, ED1 Rulebook). So you and Mataxes is correct (and the Thread Weaving/Casting example is correct).
PS: I've edited this Topic to note that it's ED1, not ED3. Just an FYI -- if possible, please try to include a pointer that indicates it's a non-ED3 question, just to help avoid confusion. No problem with answering questions for earlier editions where they can be answered!
Kind regards, James
Sorry. It's been a while since I've played ED1.
The creature may use one of its "number of spells" to weave spell threads (it's there on p.286, ED1 Rulebook). So you and Mataxes is correct (and the Thread Weaving/Casting example is correct).
PS: I've edited this Topic to note that it's ED1, not ED3. Just an FYI -- if possible, please try to include a pointer that indicates it's a non-ED3 question, just to help avoid confusion. No problem with answering questions for earlier editions where they can be answered!
Kind regards, James
-
gryphon410
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:15 pm [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: [ED1] Number of Spells (x)
The question WAS in regards to ED3. I was just using the Dragons to book as the reference point for the only thing I could find to support any thoughts on what to do, and Mists of Betrayal only because I was running the adventure last night. I'd love to see where the reference is in ED3.
-Gryphon
-Gryphon
- Anunnaki
- Posts: 344
- Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:27 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: [ED1] Number of Spells (x)
Hi Gryphon,
Actions work differently for creatures in ED3 (the syntax "Number of Attacks" and "Number of Spells" were used in ED1 and ED2 -- the latter from Living Room Games). The Dragons book was published by Living Room Games, though there was a free version release by FASA back in the day.
I apologize if you think I was nitpicking, but from the question you asked in your OP, you were talking about older products and the older syntax.
ED3 just uses Number of Actions, which work as discussed above for creatures with more than 1 action (they can weave, then cast if they have multiple actions). Just different syntax.
Regards, James
Actions work differently for creatures in ED3 (the syntax "Number of Attacks" and "Number of Spells" were used in ED1 and ED2 -- the latter from Living Room Games). The Dragons book was published by Living Room Games, though there was a free version release by FASA back in the day.
I apologize if you think I was nitpicking, but from the question you asked in your OP, you were talking about older products and the older syntax.
ED3 just uses Number of Actions, which work as discussed above for creatures with more than 1 action (they can weave, then cast if they have multiple actions). Just different syntax.
Regards, James
-
gryphon410
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:15 pm [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: [ED1] Number of Spells (x)
Good grief, now I feel retarded. This whole time I was looking up supporting information on the # of Spells vs # of Attacks and all I had to do was look up that part of the book that referenced actions. Guess I got too hung up on looking for an explanation for the Mist and the # of spells.
Thanks for clearing that up for me!
Thanks for clearing that up for me!
- Anunnaki
- Posts: 344
- Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:27 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Re: [ED1] Number of Spells (x)
Glad we got there in the end! 
-
Telarus_KSC
- Posts: 744
- Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:26 am [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests