etherial wrote: ↑Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:56 pm
The Wizard simply gets to choose every time they Circle which Wizard Talents count toward Circling as a Wizard. But when that Wizard becomes a Third Circle Illusionist, Conversation suddenly stops being a Wizard Talent Option and becomes an Illusionist Discipline Talent. This is mostly a game balance thing for when not using this Optional Rule, preventing you from raising it at the lower Legend Cost of one Discipline but counting it towards the other Discipline, but may be relevant also when the Talent Knack rules come out. It also frees up a Wizard Talent Option slot that can be used for something else.
The question put here is "What happens when a Wizard Talent Option I've been using to Circle suddenly becomes not a Wizard Talent
at all because it's been reclassified on my sheet as an Illusionist Discipline Talent instead?"
But I don't think that it ever says or even implies that a talent stops being a Talent Option for discipline #1 just because it became a Discipline Talent for discipline #2. And it most certainly does not stop being a "Talent available to his Discipline" It does specifically say that you need to pay the LP cost of it as a discipline talent, but that is it. It becomes treated as a Discipline Talent, and a Talent Option slot is freed up, but nether of those things implies that it stops counting as a Talent Option for discipline #1.
Page 457 wrote:Talent Options available through multiple Disciplines are handled separately. If a character has learned a Talent Option for a Discipline, he uses the appropriate Legend Point cost for that Discipline to raise the talent based on its Circle—even if it is available as a Talent Option at a lower tier for a new Discipline.
If a character has learned a Talent Option that is a Discipline Talent for a new Discipline, that talent becomes a Discipline Talent as soon as the character qualifies to learn it from the new Discipline. From then on they use the Legend Point cost for the new Discipline. Until then it is treated as a Talent Option for the old Discipline. Once it becomes a Discipline Talent, the Talent Option slot is freed up, and the character may learn a new Talent Option from the old Discipline.
All of that has to do with how much it costs to raise a Talent Rank. It says that a Talent that is an Option for multiple Disciplines only takes a "slot" in one of them, but does not in any way say that it does not count as a Talent available to multiple disciplines.
Page 453 wrote:Instead. .. a character can know a certain number of talents available to his Discipline at a minimum rank (either Discipline Talents or Talent Options),
I think we are all agreed that one Talent can "count" as a Discipline Talent for two or more disciplines. I don't see why everybody assumes that one Talent can't "count" as both a Discipline Talent, and "a talent available to his Discipline" for more than one Discipline.
Now for all of these issues, it is a question of what optional rules the GM wants, how liberal a game they want, and how he/she wants to interpret and balance them.
The core rules state these are the specific talents that are core to being a (whatever). Some people feel straitjacketed by the vision of the design team. So this optional rule allows a great deal more flexibility in customizing your characters. Unfortunately, this optional rule also makes multi-disciplining much cheaper. And different interpretation and/or house rules could make it cheaper still, or try to hold the line and minimize the effect.
The overlap between any two disciplines discipline talent and talent option lists is much, much greater than between the discipline talent lists. Therefor in order that multi-disciplining does not become too cheap, I recommend playing like you have been discussing. My point is that I don't think that it is the rules as they are written.
I think that a good house rule, for a GM that does want to allow maximum flexibility, but does not want multi-disciplining to become too inexpensive, would be to count for advancement only those Talents that were Discipline Talents, or that were Talent Options that are occupying a Talent Option slot for the Discipline being advanced. However I would allow unused TO slots to temporarily count Talents from the TO list that are discipline talents for other disciplines, or that are occupying a TO slot from some other Discipline. IE: in the example above, I would allow a Wizard to keep counting "conversation" as one of the talents that fulfills his requirements, so long as he keeps increasing it's rank, and so long as he still has an empty Wizard TO slot for it.
So once again, you only count Wizard Discipline Talents, and other Talents on the Wizard TO list, that are ether occupying a Wizard TO slot, or that you have an empty Wizard TO slot for. Other house rules are certainly possible, some more liberal, some more confining (for example, what was discussed above, or "if it is on your talent option list, it counts). But this one seems like a good balance. But once again, it is a house rule, because the RAW don't really address this.