Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Discussion on the Earthdawn game line, errata, and feedback not related to playing or GMing.
Max Mustermann
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 3:32 pm

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Max Mustermann » Sun Mar 14, 2021 3:39 pm

Hi to all,

could someone clarify what it means, only one source for a test or only one source for buff or debuff.

Some examples

Can i use:
Anticipate blow and manoever on the same target?

Battle shout and battle bellow on the same target?

In older editions there was the rule of 3, 3 things to buff a test.

I would say yes 😎, because we play Heroes 😊

Thx for all Max

User avatar
Mataxes
Posts: 739
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: The Great Library
Contact:

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Mataxes » Mon Mar 15, 2021 2:24 am

Generally speaking, you can't stack the effects of the same talent or spell from different people.

So you can't have one character use Taunt and then another character also use Taunt on the same target to increase the effect -- only the most potent effect matters.

You *could* use Anticipate Blow and Maneuver on the same opponent.
Josh Harrison - josh@fasagames.com
Earthdawn Line Developer, Forum Admin

Personal Website: www.loremerchant.com

Max Mustermann
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 3:32 pm

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Max Mustermann » Mon Mar 15, 2021 6:54 am

Good Morning,

thx, thats the way we play ist 😊

Cheers Max

ragbasti
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by ragbasti » Wed Apr 14, 2021 7:21 pm

Defensive Stance:

Table on page 383 says -3 to all tests, but description in 384 says just tests, except for Knockdown.

Main question:
Does that mean it also reduces Initiative?

ragbasti
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by ragbasti » Sat Apr 17, 2021 9:08 am

Another thing came up today in Discord.

Astral Interference vs Baseline Subtraction:
Can someone cast Baseline Subtraction just in the anticipation that Astral Interference may be used or is the spell only valid as a counter of already existing interference?

Scenario: A Wizard casting Baseline Subtraction before they themselves or another wizard uses the Astral Interference Talent to eliminate the penalty before it even happens.

Would be great to get a proper clarification on this in the errata.

Panda
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:30 am

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Panda » Sat Apr 17, 2021 3:20 pm

Greetings,

Defensive Stance doesn't affect Initiative. I will update the and errata faq/clarification document to reflect.

Yes, Baseline Subtraction can be cast before using the talent.

Post Reply