Canonical Earthdawn

Discussion on the Earthdawn game line, errata, and feedback not related to playing or GMing.
zayven
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Canonical Earthdawn

Postby zayven » Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:06 am

How closely do you adhere to the "canonical" details of Earthdawn's published setting material?

This question occurred to me when I was responding to another post about the Travar book and seems relevant since FASA is jumpstarting the ED timeline. I've been running a fairly intermittent game in Travar for several years. I chose Travar as my setting because I wanted to send the players somewhere they hadn't been before and I wanted to have the freedom to build the city up as a "home base" where they could become invested in a specific locality and undertake whatever quests they wanted. To that end, I used an old map of medieval Rome, divided it into districts, and wrote up some additional backstory about the city. It's not immensely detailed, but I've probably got fifteen to twenty pages outlining locations within the city and people that the characters can interact with (most of which have their own quests).

At the time, this was easy because there wasn't much out there on Travar. There's a short write-up on the city in the old Barsaive box set and some mention of it in the Serpent River sourcebook, but nothing on the level of what exists for Throal, Vivane, or Kratas (which hadn't been released at the time I started this game). Now, however, there's going to be a whole book on this location that will no doubt contradict a lot of what I've established in my Travar. Obviously, it would be easy to just ignore the new information or simply incorporate much of what I've already done into the "new/real" Travar, but that kind of ducks the question that I want to get at.