astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Discussion on game mastering Earthdawn. May contain spoilers; caution is recommended!
galafrone
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:28 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby galafrone » Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:39 pm

I have a player that is a thief windling.
he would like to take a second discipline
his question is, if the second (or subsequent) discipline has astral sight as talent, has the windling to relearn it (as for versatility) or since the base description says that astral sight for a windling is a talent, he hasnt ?

User avatar
Mataxes
Site Admin
Posts: 907
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:51 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby Mataxes » Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:42 pm

The racial ability does not count as a talent for the purposes of advancing, so the windling would need to learn the talent through the Discipline for it it count.
Josh Harrison --
Troubadour and Magic Theorist
Line Developer: Earthdawn

User avatar
Drucifer
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:04 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby Drucifer » Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:13 am

Not to mention the talent and the Racial ability are very different in what they perceive.
Tableau Infractus
Tableau Infractus


Fans are the life blood of any game system... Go get some new blood.

arma
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:30 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby arma » Fri Dec 16, 2011 5:07 am

Best kaer anywhere.

thezombiekat
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:07 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby thezombiekat » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:52 am

Why would you loose the windlings natural sastral sensitive sight.

I cant see any reason the character should not be allowed to have both astral sight talent and astral sensitive sight racial ability. They work in significantly different ways the character could choose which to activate according to his needs of the moment. Likely favouring the windling natural until the step on the talent is better

User avatar
Lord of Badlands
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 6:53 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby Lord of Badlands » Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:48 am

You know, in ED3 Windlings don't have the "Astral Sensitive Sight" Racial ASbility. They have the Astral Sight Talent ;)

galafrone
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:28 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby galafrone » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:01 am

raising the topic for a last clarification.
say the named windling has raised his astral sight talent from 0 to 4 before swapping class.
has he to rebuy all the slots from 0 to 4 when he takes the new discipline where Astral sight is a Discipline talent ?
or just the level 1 then is possible to transfer the old levels to the new talent as for the skills compensation optional rule ?

arma
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:30 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby arma » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:24 am

Again: No
You have the talent, you keep it.
You never need to re-buy anything, except if it was learned via Versatility.
You use all the normal rules for the racial ability until you reach the Circle where the new Discipline gets it. Once you reach the circle where the new Discipline gets it, it becomes a Discipline talent from then on and uses all the rules for a Discipline Talent.
Example1: the Thief wants to become a Scout. From Scout Circles 1-5, the talent remains unchanged and uses the Circle 1 LP cost. Once the character reaches Circle 6, it becomes a Discipline Talent and uses a new, higher LP cost.
Example2: The Thief wants to become a Wizard. You do not need to buy the talent when adding the new Discipline, since you already know it, and it becomes a Discipline Talent right away.
Best kaer anywhere.

galafrone
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:28 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby galafrone » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:32 am


galafrone
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 9:28 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: astral sight (windling racial) and multiple disciplines

Postby galafrone » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:38 am



[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “For Game Masters”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest