Starting GM looking for advice

Discussion on game mastering Earthdawn. May contain spoilers; caution is recommended!
Monkoflords
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Starting GM looking for advice

Postby Monkoflords » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:08 am

Given I haven't had the luck to really to play Earthdawn, I may have to run it to get a chance to play, but given I have limited experience with the game, are there any suggestions you would give a starting GM?

For reference, I have the 4th Edition PDF and so forth, and I just happened to stumble into a large amount of 3rd Ed books thanks to a garage sale.

evil
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Starting GM looking for advice

Postby evil » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:30 pm

for your first time out, try having some encounters with Jethra or cadavermen so you can get used to the combat system.

Gkeckley

Postby Gkeckley » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:53 pm

Actually be careful with the Jehuthra fight it can go south really quick if you are using its powers correctly, depending on the party composition. Between the two attacks per round, decent armor, the iron web and frost web powers, a spellcasting step of 14, and an attack step of 13 a TPK is likely to happen. There is a reason that 3rd edition rated them as a 4th circle (1 per 2 PC) challenge.

cz1234

Postby cz1234 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:58 pm

Some things that spring to mind:

1) If your players have not played a 'crunchy' system before be patient.