Magic for dummies

Discussion on game mastering Earthdawn. May contain spoilers; caution is recommended!
lordbaylay
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Magic for dummies

Postby lordbaylay » Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:33 am

This is my first post on this forum, so let me start by saying 'Greetings fellow GMs!'

To the point now. I have been running a 3rd edition ED campaign for about two months now. When I was reading the player & GM manuals for the first time, I thought that the use of magic is a bit complicated to get too deep into it from start, especially being a new GM for this system and having a party completely new to the ED setting. The time has come when I cannot avoid using the magic in the campaign anymore as the party gained some magical treasure and they will, sooner rather than later, face spellcasters on their troubled journeys.
I did some reading on how magic works, especially in relation to magical objects and treasures, and I have to admit I am a bit lost! Would anyone be kind enough to help me understand and explain to me, in a language for dummies, how this all works? How does the party get to know that Item they hold is magical? How do they know what knowledge/deeds they need to attune to a thread? How is attuning done, does it happen automatically, or do they have to use their discipline's 'thread weaving' talent? If so, can it only be done at circle 4 and not earlier?
As you can see I've got a lot to ask about, but don't want to flood the first post with a ton of questions. I will appreciate any help and shall try to work my way through it all for the benefit of my players.

Thanks up-front.

Mataxes
Site Admin
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Magic for dummies