Search found 55 matches

by ChrisDDickey
Tue Aug 30, 2016 2:56 am
Forum: For Game Masters
Topic: Magicians Casting Buffs On Teammates `From Behind'
Replies: 20
Views: 2802

Re: Magicians Casting Buffs On Teammates `From Behind'

As for consistent penalties outside of combat due to the chain casting, I personally don't think it's necessary, but it could be an interesting mechanic. I wouldn't over-mechanize it, though: maybe GM rolls a 1d6 (again, assuming casting every ~5 minutes), and on a 1, the character is distract for ...
by ChrisDDickey
Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:38 am
Forum: For Players
Topic: Heat Armor
Replies: 10
Views: 1737

Re: Heat Armor

I agree with just about everything you say, especially about the difference between the hide of an animal and animal hide armor. And also that you can't apply logic or science to magic. In fact that is one of my pet peeves also. I am willing to stipulate that the spell can figure out that a little b...
by ChrisDDickey
Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:53 am
Forum: For Players
Topic: Heat Armor
Replies: 10
Views: 1737

Heat Armor

Fire . This spell rapidly heats up armor or shields. Any type of guidance on what type of armor this can or can't be cast upon? I mean it does not say anything about metallic armors only or anything else like that, so it seems that a literal reading of the rules would say it could be cast on anythi...
by ChrisDDickey
Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:15 am
Forum: For Game Masters
Topic: Annoying Plant Feast
Replies: 15
Views: 2195

Re: Annoying Plant Feast

One thing that has not been mentioned yet is Astral Clouding. This could turn out to be a huge problem for any large scale long term centralized spellcasting operation in any but a totally clear area. As the spellcaster casts the spell, his matrix filters out the astral corruption, which stays in as...
by ChrisDDickey
Fri May 27, 2016 1:45 pm
Forum: For Players
Topic: Additional Targets in Spellcasting
Replies: 26
Views: 3508

Re: Additional Targets in Spellcasting

Going back to the original question, I would say +1 target means a different target. If your level of successes allows more targets than you want to use, you don't NEED to assign the extra lightning bolts to a target, but you can't have one target hit by more than one bolt per casting unless the spe...
by ChrisDDickey
Wed May 25, 2016 1:54 am
Forum: For Players
Topic: Willforce strain and aoe or multi-targets
Replies: 12
Views: 1961

Re: Willforce strain and aoe or multi-targets

Bone Shatter is not a good example of "multiple Effect tests for a group". It is a great example of "If a spell requires multiple Effect tests". If you get two successes on Bone Shatter, you can apply them both the the same individual (in which case there is no "group")...
by ChrisDDickey
Tue May 24, 2016 10:54 pm
Forum: For Players
Topic: Willforce strain and aoe or multi-targets
Replies: 12
Views: 1961

Re: Willforce strain and aoe or multi-targets

Fireball explicitly states 1 effect test for all targets (1 strain to use willlforce, 1 point of karma if you want in addition.)) "The magician’s Effect test determines how much damage is inflicted on those affected." singular "test" multiple targets "those" Fireball d...
by ChrisDDickey
Tue May 24, 2016 10:49 pm
Forum: For Players
Topic: Extra Successes allowing extra Targets
Replies: 17
Views: 2390

Re: Extra Successes allowing extra Targets

But that just brings us back to the origional question. If you target a common iguana (MD 6), then if you happen to hit that lizard with a 16, you have generated two extra successes, which could be used to hit two Espagra (MD 15). Where if you just target an Espagra, you need a 20 to generate the ex...
by ChrisDDickey
Tue May 24, 2016 9:38 pm
Forum: For Players
Topic: Willforce strain and aoe or multi-targets
Replies: 12
Views: 1961

Re: Willforce strain and aoe or multi-targets

The adept focuses his will, increasing the effectiveness of his spells ... If a spell requires multiple Effect tests (by targeting a group, or having an extended duration, for example), the adept can choose which tests receive the benefit of this talent at the time he makes the test. So yes, if you...
by ChrisDDickey
Tue May 24, 2016 7:36 pm
Forum: For Players
Topic: Extra Successes allowing extra Targets
Replies: 17
Views: 2390

Extra Successes allowing extra Targets

How are spells that allow additional targets on extra successes (like Air Mattress or Lightning Bolt) handled if potential targets have different MD? From reading the text, it seems like the standard way is that the spellcasting test is rolled only once, and the initial primary target's MD is used t...

Go to advanced search