TMD- and buffing

Discussion on game mastering Earthdawn. May contain spoilers; caution is recommended!
Calamrin
TMD- and buffing

Post by Calamrin » Sun Jul 30, 2017 7:37 am

Im new to boards to apologise up front if im repeating anything.

Casters MD is generally high and as they circle up it gets higher...faster than his/her spell casting can keep up....so the more powerful circle wise you are the worse you get at buffing yourself or other same circle casters in your group.

Is that how its intended?

Are casters supposed to be just buffing the physical types to make them stronger, and staying at the back and out of the action?

The Undying

Re: TMD- and buffing

Post by The Undying » Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:08 am

First, welcome! Are you new to ED or just the boards?

Next, on topic:

So, you've stumbled into a bit of a hornet's nest. Line developers would need to speak to whether it's as intended, but yes, caster MD gets high enough over time to be a difficulty in using their abilities on themselves. Prior versions of ED had a way to consciously lower your MD for a round, but that's gone. Others on the forum kind of twist the rules of Disbelieving to get a similar effect - not my cup of tea, but to each their own.

It's worthwhile to note that you're probably just looking at RAW numbers. Yes, a caster that doesn't improve their Spellcasting ends up getting in a situation where they have approximately equal Spellcasting test and MD. However, very few casters let their Spellcasting rank languish. Thread Items, Group Thread, and such all bump a caster's Spellcasting rank, helping their test edge out the difficulty (MD).

Downside, that doesn't help across the board with the main other beneficial things a caster could do to themself if not for their high MD.

As to whether it's the caster's role to buff others, I'd weigh in that yes, ED 4 did shift things a bit more that way. However, I wouldn't necessarily say that's a bad thing.

Calamrin