Ice mace and chain

Discussion on playing Earthdawn. Experiences, stories, and questions related to being a player.
Post Reply
FrozenVomit
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:21 pm

Ice mace and chain

Post by FrozenVomit » Sun Nov 04, 2018 9:53 pm

Ice mace and chain p.278 PG

« ...target is harried(p.388) until he frees himself at the end of the following round. »

1st: Does the target can still run at me and hit me if he is harried?

2nd: Does the target need to do an action to free himself? In other word; does he lose his standard action freeing himself?

3th: If the spell is cast with 2 sucess and now the duration is 6 rounds. The target is harried 6 round or it takes 6 round to free himself????

User avatar
Mataxes
Posts: 680
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: The Great Library
Contact:

Re: Ice mace and chain

Post by Mataxes » Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:18 pm

"Harried" does not prevent movement. It applies penalties to tests, as well as Physical and Mystic Defense ratings (Player's Guide, pg 388).

"Frees himself" is probably not the appropriate term. "Is freed" (as a result of the ice melting) is more applicable, since there is no test given to remove the binding chains. The longer duration for extra successes does mean it takes longer for that to happen.
Josh Harrison - josh@fasagames.com
Earthdawn Line Developer, Forum Admin

Personal Website: www.loremerchant.com

Post Reply