Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Discussion on the Earthdawn game line, errata, and feedback not related to playing or GMing.
Belenus
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:27 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Belenus » Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:57 pm

Elven Nations
p. 30 wrote:After Kenlyn Escalanas received Failla’s blessing for the marriage of his granddaughter Milina to Seosamh Carithasca, eldest grandchild of the Carithasca matriarch
p.97 wrote:Soon afterward, Failla appointed Ethenia as one of her consortis. The position allowed Ethenia to wed her eldest son Seosamh to Milina Escalanas
So is he now her son or grandchild? Couldn't find those information in the older Blood Wood book.

p. 104 wrote:The most sought after of these boats were decorated with carvings of birds, fish, water lilies, and other motifs.
Did you really mean boats and not structures? Everything before and after this sentence is talking about the buildings.


Would appreciate a fast answer for the german version of the book.

User avatar
Mataxes
Posts: 722
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: The Great Library
Contact:

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Mataxes » Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:11 am

Belenus wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:57 pm
Elven Nations
p. 30 wrote:After Kenlyn Escalanas received Failla’s blessing for the marriage of his granddaughter Milina to Seosamh Carithasca, eldest grandchild of the Carithasca matriarch
p.97 wrote:Soon afterward, Failla appointed Ethenia as one of her consortis. The position allowed Ethenia to wed her eldest son Seosamh to Milina Escalanas
So is he now her son or grandchild? Couldn't find those information in the older Blood Wood book.

p. 104 wrote:The most sought after of these boats were decorated with carvings of birds, fish, water lilies, and other motifs.
Did you really mean boats and not structures? Everything before and after this sentence is talking about the buildings.


Would appreciate a fast answer for the german version of the book.
If this is about translation for the official German version, you're better off sending questions directly to us instead of posting them here.

I'll pass the questions along, though.
Josh Harrison - josh@fasagames.com
Earthdawn Line Developer, Forum Admin

Personal Website: www.loremerchant.com

User avatar
Mataxes
Posts: 722
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: The Great Library
Contact:

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Mataxes » Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:12 am

Scherme wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 7:01 pm
I was also wondering about the inconsistencies among creatures movement in the GMG.

Some creatures have (Swim X) others have (Swimming X) and some have (Climb X) while others have (Climbing X).

Was this a simple oversight or is there some reason for the distinction that I am missing?
Just sloppy consistency. It means the same thing.
Josh Harrison - josh@fasagames.com
Earthdawn Line Developer, Forum Admin

Personal Website: www.loremerchant.com

Panda
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:30 am

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Panda » Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:16 pm

Greetings,
Scherme wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:40 pm
4ED Gamemaster's Guide pg. 313
Lightning Lizard has no listed amount of Recovery Tests
The 3rd Edition lists it as 2.
It should have two Recovery Tests.
Scherme wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:40 pm
4ED Gamemaster's Guide pg. 358
Listed under Storm Wolf Powers:
Storm Call (15): A pack of storm wolves is able to call up a storm. The pack gives an
eerie, whistling howl and the leader makes a Storm Call (20) test...
Bonuses do not match, and it does not list a target number to measure a success against.
The ability is correct as written. As noted on p. 34, Player's Guide, the number in the parentheses is the Difficulty Number:
In many cases when the player characters must make a test, the required ability is shown with the Difficulty Number of the task in parentheses. For example, a Perception (13) test means a character uses his Perception Step to make a test against a Difficulty Number of 13.
Hopefully this clears things up.

Morgan

Scherme
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 2:53 pm
Location: Western Massachusetts

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Scherme » Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:55 pm

Hopefully this clears things up.

Morgan
Yes, thank you. I kept reading it as "makes a Storm Call +20 test". I think the Ethandrille's mismatched bonuses threw me off.


Just sloppy consistency. It means the same thing.
Thank you for the clarification.
In a perpetual state of lore overload.

ragbasti
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by ragbasti » Tue Nov 19, 2019 9:32 pm

Just mentioned this in discord:
Animal Possession only states that an adept retains their intellect but fails to mention that they also retain their talents.

Panda confirmed that talents are still usable, as long as the animal is physically able to do so.

Should probably be included in the errata just for future reference

WednesdayBryan
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 1:05 am

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by WednesdayBryan » Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:56 pm

Shaman Spell Mark of the Bear In Mystic Paths. The effect says "Bonus to unarmed attacks." However, the text says "The target bellows and gains the following benefits: +2 to close combat Attack and Damage tests . . . "

Is the bonus to all close combat attacks or only unarmed attacks?

Panda
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:30 am

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by Panda » Wed Feb 05, 2020 6:10 pm

Greetings,

It applies to close combat attacks, not just unarmed attacks. I updated the errata to reflect this.

Thank you and best regards,

Morgan

ChrisDDickey
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:02 pm

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by ChrisDDickey » Sat May 02, 2020 8:47 pm

GM guide pg 427, dragon powers, Karma Points.
... The value given in parentheses after the Karma power in the dragon’s description indicates the dragon’s Karma Step. The dragon has a pool of Karma Points equal to its Karma Step x 4, which ...
Karma: 8 (32)
The dragons Karma Step is the value that is NOT in the parenthesis. Text should be something like ...
The value given after the Karma power in the dragon's description indicates the dragon's Karma Step. The dragon has a pool of Karma (generally equal to its Karma Step x 4) which is given in parenthesis.

quillius
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 2:26 am

Re: Fourth Edition Errata, Clarifications, and FAQs

Post by quillius » Thu May 07, 2020 7:49 pm

The table of contents in the second printing of the Player's Guide is broken. Clicking on the entries take you to the cover, not to the appropriate place in the text.

Post Reply