Timing of ongoing effects

Discussion on the Earthdawn game line, errata, and feedback not related to playing or GMing.
Post Reply
DannyDark007
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:58 am

Timing of ongoing effects

Post by DannyDark007 » Sun Aug 11, 2019 12:30 pm

I have some questions as to the timing of ongoing effects:

For a talent such as Frighten or other talents or spells that allow the target to attempt to escape the effects:
e.g. "Each round, the target may make a Willpower test against the adept’s FrightenStep. If successful, he throws off the effect of his fear and the talent ends."

When is this test allowed?
  • At the end of the round used or cast?
  • At the end of the next and subsequent rounds?
  • At the end of the target's next turn?
  • At the end of the target's turn on the next and subsequent rounds?
A similar question for spells such as Fire Flash that inflict damage over more than one round:
"The magician’s Effect test determines how much damage is inflicted each round."

When does the target suffer the damage during the next round?
  • The next round, on the caster's initiative?
  • The next round on the target's initiative?
  • At the end of the next round?
Thanks

ChrisDDickey
Posts: 544
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:02 pm

Re: Timing of ongoing effects

Post by ChrisDDickey » Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:57 pm

For additional discussion see this thread http://www.fasagames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=505 and this thread http://www.fasagames.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=368

Short answer: It depends on how you want to do it. Various people, including the developers have their own favorite methods, but they don't insist that any one method is right.

I gave this a lot of thought a while ago and this is what I came up with. It is not the officially correct answer, it is just the answer I like.

On the turn that a target is hit by a poison or power that both targets one of their defenses (PD, MD, or SD) and allows an Iron Constitution, Lion Heart, or similar save, the target is affected on the casters action and can't attempt the save the same round they were hit, they need to wait until the following round. On subsequent rounds, the target attempts their save before their action, and if the save fails, takes any ongoing damage or effects before their action. Note that if the target has not yet taken their action the round they were first affected, they would be frightened during that action, but would not suffer poison damage a 2nd time that round.

Some tables might find it more convenient to roll flame flash and similar damage on the casters turn, and that should be OK if applied consistently.

User avatar
Mataxes
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: The Great Library
Contact:

Re: Timing of ongoing effects

Post by Mataxes » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:33 pm

DannyDark007 wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 12:30 pm
I have some questions as to the timing of ongoing effects:

For a talent such as Frighten or other talents or spells that allow the target to attempt to escape the effects:
e.g. "Each round, the target may make a Willpower test against the adept’s FrightenStep. If successful, he throws off the effect of his fear and the talent ends."

When is this test allowed?
  • At the end of the round used or cast?
  • At the end of the next and subsequent rounds?
  • At the end of the target's next turn?
  • At the end of the target's turn on the next and subsequent rounds?
Personally, I usually allow the affected character to make the test at the start of their turn as a free/simple action. If they succeed, they get their turn unhindered by any penalty or effect.
A similar question for spells such as Fire Flash that inflict damage over more than one round:
"The magician’s Effect test determines how much damage is inflicted each round."

When does the target suffer the damage during the next round?
  • The next round, on the caster's initiative?
  • The next round on the target's initiative?
  • At the end of the next round?
This is a bit tougher. As a general rule I have it happen on the caster's initiative count, but if it makes more sense for a test to happen on the target's Initiative (for example, somebody trying to move through an area-of-effect damage spell) I'll have it happen then.
Josh Harrison - josh@fasagames.com
Earthdawn Line Developer, Forum Admin

Personal Website: www.loremerchant.com

Post Reply