Dumb Questions

Discussion on playing Earthdawn. Experiences, stories, and questions related to being a player.
Slimcreeper
Posts: 394
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:18 pm

Dumb Questions

Postby Slimcreeper » Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:11 pm

This thread is for your Dumb Questions. Why start a thread for dumb questions? So that I can ask one, and then it will be camouflaged by all the others.

When it says claws x2, is that 2 attacks that only uses one action? So Actions: 2; Bite # (#), Claws x2 # (#) means the creature actually gets 3 attacks, correct?

User avatar
etherial
Posts: 601
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:29 am

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby etherial » Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:38 pm

Slimcreeper wrote:When it says claws x2, is that 2 attacks that only uses one action? So Actions: 2; Bite # (#), Claws x2 # (#) means the creature actually gets 3 attacks, correct?


All it means is that the creature literally has 2 claws. For story purposes, it can be attacking with both claws in a raking fashion, but it's just one # (#) attack. For each of its Actions, it can perform any appropriate Standard Action: Bite Attack, Claw Attack, Creature Power, Run*, etc. If you somehow managed to disable both of its claws (like say trapping the claws in tar), it could no longer make Claw Attacks.

*All creatures get the usual Movement Action and may spend at most one Standard Action per round for a second Movement Action. See ED4GMG249 for more information.

User avatar
Mataxes
Site Admin
Posts: 907
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby Mataxes » Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:24 pm

The "x2" indicator shows the maximum number of times the creature can use that particular attack/damage type in a round. So if a creature has 3 actions, but "Claws x2" it can only use 2 of those actions to attack with claws. For the third action it would need to use one of its other attack types or action-using powers.

Example 1: Cave Crab
Actions: 2; Bite: 18 (20), Claws x2: 20 (25)
Can attack twice with either 2 claws at Step 20 or a bite at Step 18 and a claw at Step 20.

Example 2: Brithan
Actions: 2; Bite: 14 (20), Claw: 15 (18)
Can attack twice with a bite at Step 14 and a claw at Step 15. Because it doesn't have the x2 indicator, it couldn't do 2 claw attacks. It could use an extra move and claw or bite (1 action for the extra move, the other action for the attack).
Josh Harrison -- The Lore Merchant
Troubadour and Magic Theorist
Line Developer: Earthdawn

User avatar
etherial
Posts: 601
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:29 am

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby etherial » Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:36 pm

Mataxes wrote:The "x2" indicator shows the maximum number of times the creature can use that particular attack/damage type in a round. So if a creature has 3 actions, but "Claws x2" it can only use 2 of those actions to attack with claws. For the third action it would need to use one of its other attack types or action-using powers.


See, that's what I thought the book said, but I found the text wasn't clear enough to support it.

User avatar
Mataxes
Site Admin
Posts: 907
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby Mataxes » Fri Nov 04, 2016 11:45 pm

etherial wrote:See, that's what I thought the book said, but I found the text wasn't clear enough to support it.


Yeah, I went and looked and realized it wasn't clear. It's strongly implied but never expressly stated.

(On a related note, I've been making notes about stuff like this to see if they can be fit into the Companion as clarifications, along with some optional rules like lowering Mystic Defense, "Chain Casting," and spending Legend to raise "Free" talents.)
Josh Harrison -- The Lore Merchant
Troubadour and Magic Theorist
Line Developer: Earthdawn

Pixel01
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:22 pm
Location: Osaka, Ji'Poh

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby Pixel01 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 4:02 am

What about creatures that berserk or go frenzy like the Brithan? How do the attack limitations effect that?

Pixel01
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:22 pm
Location: Osaka, Ji'Poh

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby Pixel01 » Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:24 am

To add to the list of questions:
Is there a mechanism for breaking free of bonds or should it simply be a strength test? In the first novels there was some thief magic I believe but I cannot seem to find it

Razan_GM
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Warsav, Poland.

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby Razan_GM » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:40 am

In case of Brithan 4ed (it gains 1 Action when frenzy), I think it can do Bite or Claw attack. Divide extra Actions as evenly as you can on possible attacks.

Bonds as rope or metal shackles? In case of rope I would let make Dex test with difficulty of Dex Step of the character making the knots. Strength test with difficulty depending on rope (normal rope would be about 12).

Iron shackles: Dex test only if you have oil or something like that. Strength difficulty about 15 or more.

User avatar
Mataxes
Site Admin
Posts: 907
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby Mataxes » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:15 am

Pixel01 wrote:In the first novels there was some thief magic I believe but I cannot seem to find it


IIRC it was something Garlthik did, but there's nothing in the ED1 Thief progression that mimics that. It most closely resembles Shackle Shrug, a Liberator talent.
Josh Harrison -- The Lore Merchant
Troubadour and Magic Theorist
Line Developer: Earthdawn

ChrisDDickey
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:44 am

Re: Dumb Questions

Postby ChrisDDickey » Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:21 pm

I like the idea of a thread for quick and dumb questions.

How do people handle the nethermancy spell "Experience Death"?
Unfortunately, this also includes taking any damage the deceased suffered before he died. The Effect test gives the magician temporary Damage Points. Any damage inflicted on the magician first reduces his temporary Damage Points before being added to his Current Damage (Mystic Armor provides protection).

Do most GMs total up all the damage the target took in the rounds before he died and apply it as one lump, for which the magician gets to apply his mystic armor only once? Or if the target died by many small blows, would the magician get to apply his mystic armor to each individual blow, hopefully (if he has good mystic armor and thought to cast soul armor upon himself before casting experience death) taking very little or no damage from the spell.
The latter method seems to be the humane way, it makes the spell somewhat risky, but not insanely so.

The spell requires concentration - What happens if the magician simply stops concentrating on the spell? can he avoid feeling the deathblow by so simple method?


Return to “For Players”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest