Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Discussion on playing Earthdawn. Experiences, stories, and questions related to being a player.
Baravakar
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:12 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Baravakar » Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:31 pm

Subject: Movement and Actions
This may sound like a odd question to ask but I researched the book and I could not find a definitive answer.

    Can a character move after taking their standard action?

Here what I found on my research:
Player's Guide, Page 373:
    Once the Initiative order has been determined, the characters declare the specific (things) they intend to use.
    After all characters have resolved their actions, the round ends.
    During each combat round, a character can take one Standard action and any number of Simple actions.
    Each round, a character can freely move a distance up to his Movement Rate.
    A character can perform one Standard action per combat round.

Player's Guide, Page 375:
    Apart from his Standard Action, a character can perform a variety of Simple actions during a combat round.
    Free actions are usually part of other actions a character takes, enhancing them.
    Starting with the highest Initiative result, characters perform their declared actions, one at a time, until all characters’ actions have been resolved.
    Each character’s actions are resolved before the next character acts.

Player's Guide, Page 386:
    A character uses part of his movement to approach a target, make an attack, then uses the rest of his movement to move away. Use of the Splitting Movement combat option causes the character 1 Strain. A character who uses this option is Harried.

In ED3, moving up to your movement rate was considered a simple action. The new rules state characters can move freely. Whether this is now a simple to fee action to perform does not matter to this question.

Here is an example of the issue:
    The character starts the round in close combat with an opponent.
    On his initiative step, he make an attack with a standard action.

    Since the standard action has now been resolved is his turn now over?
    Can he continue to use a non-standard action to move away from the opponent?
    Can this only be done with the Splitting Movement combat option?

    The character is not Splitting Movement because no movement was performed before the standard action was used.

User avatar
Panda
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Corvallis, OR
Contact:

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Panda » Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:51 pm

That is an excellent question and certainly an oversight in how the rules have been presented.

The intention is:

His turn is not over once his Standard action has been performed. There are some abilities out there which can tactically benefit (depending on your goal) from using various Simple actions after your Standard action. For example, it is much easier to perform Acrobatic Defense against opponents who have mysteriously found themselves knocked down by some strange artifice.

He can continue to move away from an opponent after taking his Standard action, since he has not moved prior to the Standard action.

Splitting Movement is used only in the instance of move, attack, and then move. The wording could be improved to indicate the character "...then uses some or all of his remaining movement to move away," rather than "the rest," which could be interpreted to mean he must use all of his remaining movement.

As you have pointed out, "freely" is probably a poor choice of words when describing movement, as it is effectively a Simple action.

Hopefully this clears everything up.
Earthdawn Developer and I have a gaming blog, though, let's face it, it is really an Earthdawn blog which also happens to have some reviews.

Jaracove
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:20 am

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Jaracove » Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:28 am

Panda wrote:That is an excellent question and certainly an oversight in how the rules have been presented.

The intention is:

His turn is not over once his Standard action has been performed. There are some abilities out there which can tactically benefit (depending on your goal) from using various Simple actions after your Standard action. For example, it is much easier to perform Acrobatic Defense against opponents who have mysteriously found themselves knocked down by some strange artifice.

He can continue to move away from an opponent after taking his Standard action, since he has not moved prior to the Standard action.

Splitting Movement is used only in the instance of move, attack, and then move. The wording could be improved to indicate the character "...then uses some or all of his remaining movement to move away," rather than "the rest," which could be interpreted to mean he must use all of his remaining movement.

As you have pointed out, "freely" is probably a poor choice of words when describing movement, as it is effectively a Simple action.

Hopefully this clears everything up.

Bit confused

Is the original question asking 'can you move after making an attack or does that involve a split movement combat action?'

And is the reply 'yes he can move; split movement is only used when you Move --> Attack --> Move'?

User avatar
Panda
Posts: 331
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Corvallis, OR
Contact:

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Panda » Tue Jun 02, 2015 9:53 am

The original question, as I understand and answered it, was:

If you do not move prior to an attack, can you move after the attack without the use of the Splitting Movement combat option?

To which the answer is: yes.
Earthdawn Developer and I have a gaming blog, though, let's face it, it is really an Earthdawn blog which also happens to have some reviews.

Jaracove
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:20 am

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Jaracove » Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:01 am

Panda wrote:The original question, as I understand and answered it, was:

If you do not move prior to an attack, can you move after the attack without the use of the Splitting Movement combat option?

To which the answer is: yes.

Thanks for the clarifiction

Baravakar
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:12 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Baravakar » Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:26 pm

Thanks for all the feedback on the Movement and Actions issue. I finally found the first edition wording for it and I just wanted to make it was still true.

    ED1: When a character both moves and takes another action during a Combat Round, his movement must take place all at once, either before or after his other action. For example, a character can move and then attack, or vice versa, but he cannot split up his movement during a round. (without the optional rule called Splitting Movement).

ChrisDDickey
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:44 am

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby ChrisDDickey » Thu Jun 04, 2015 7:28 am

The illusionist spell "Send Message" says the range is "Self (see text)"

However the "target" is clearly "a character within line of sight".
Should be Range: LOS.

ChrisDDickey
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:44 am

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby ChrisDDickey » Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:13 am

The illusionist spell "Chosen Path" has a range of touch and an area of effect of 60 yards. It says "the deception becomes apparent once they are out of range or the spell ends".
Should it say "the deception becomes apparent once they are out of the area of effect"? Or does the spell remain in effect as long as they are on the path/road/river fork touched?

Jaracove
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:20 am

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Jaracove » Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:14 am

Has the latest errata been compiled into one handy pdf document?

Baravakar
Posts: 383
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:12 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: Fourth Edition Player's Guide Errata and FAQ

Postby Baravakar » Sun Nov 01, 2015 9:56 am

Jaracove wrote:Has the latest errata been compiled into one handy pdf document?


No it has not


Return to “For Players”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest