Advice for a new player/gm

Discussion on playing Earthdawn. Experiences, stories, and questions related to being a player.
Neferkem
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Advice for a new player/gm

Postby Neferkem » Thu Feb 19, 2015 4:15 pm

I am new to the world of Earthdawn and was wondering what advice would you give to a new player/gm? Like what is the best way to learn the game? What are some of the most common pitfalls and high points of the system? Years ago a friend got part way through character generation trying to learn the system and gave up and never played.

Kasbak

Re: Advice for a new player/gm

Postby Kasbak » Thu Feb 19, 2015 5:55 pm

First of all, welcome to the fold.

I would say one of the biggest high points for the system is also one that trips up most newcomers; the Step System. Most players are used to other systems that modify the end die result. Here, you change the Step which then modifies the actual dice being rolled. It takes a bit of getting used to thinking in terms of what your modified Step is rather than just what your modifiers are. However, once you can get past that hurdle, you'll see the great assests of the system. Most immediately obvious are the chances for roll ups when you max the die. Having a system that is open ended also gives you a LOT more possible results, a lot more room for description, and it generally makes your dice rolling more interesting. If you're a math nerd, you'll also see just how mathematically beautiful it is.